The Hunger Games (Book Series)

I want to start off by admitting that two months ago I had no idea what everyone was talking about and why they were so excited about the upcoming movie “The Hunger Games.” I had never heard about the series, much less read any of the books. However, when I saw the trailer for the first time it sparked my interest and I began thinking about what everyone else saw in the books. It so happened that a couple days after I saw the trailer one of my coworkers had a copy of the series’ first book “The Hunger Games” and I began to read it. Once I got into the story I could not put it down until she came over and asked for it back because she needed to go home. At the first chance I got after leaving work I hurried over to the bookstore to purchase my copy. I finished it that night. The following day I bought the next two “Catching Fire” and “Mockingjay” and I finished them in two days. It had become an obsession.

The series follows it main character Katniss Everdeen a resident of District 12 as she goes to the Hunger Games and tries to lead the districts to overturn the Capital. The hunger games are games sponsored by the country’s capital in which two “tributes” (a girl and boy) from each district are selected at a “Reaping” and sent to the capital to compete in an arena to the death until there is just one tribute left standing. This tribute is crowned victor and his or her district is prized with food and festivities for the following year. After Katniss and her fellow tribute Peeta are crowned victors they become capital enemy number one (and two) and must defend their lives against the capital and lead the rest of the districts in their attempt to form a rebellion and lead Panem to a fairer, hunger-games-free future. I won’t go into too many details because I do not want to spoil the story for you all but I definitely suggest reading them and trust me when I say once you pick up the first one the next time you put a book down will be because you have just finished “Mockingjay.”

I can now see the excitement over the film and I cannot wait to watch it! I hope it can do the first book justice and I am excited to see how the director has chosen to portray the book’s plot and events.

Leave a Reply

