Taco Bell Doritos Locos Tacos

There seems to be two kinds of people, those who eat Taco Bell and those who don’t. And up until earlier this week I was the latter. It’s safe to say that I haven’t eaten Taco Bell since I was in the eighth grade and being a junior in college, it’s been a long time. However a couple weeks ago or maybe months, I’m not exactly sure, Taco Bell launched it’s new Doritos Locos Tacos, essentially a taco whose shell was made of  a large taco shell shaped Dorito. When I first heard about the new tacos I thought it was extremely off-putting. However, soon after its launch my Twitter feed was filled with nothing but the Doritos Locos Taco.

As I am not one who wants to be left with a craving for something I felt that I had to go out and get one before Taco Bell pulled the plug, that is if they ever do. But as I am not always the most proactive individual (shh, don’t tell!) I had my boyfriend go get me one. After he got over the initial shock that I was actually going to eat something crafted by Taco Bell he agreed to bring me one. When you open the taco wrapper, the taco itself is incased in a thin cardboard shell with one side printed the in the same way a Doritos bag is.

As for the actual taco it was actually better than I expected! The Doritos shell is exactly that, a shell made in the same way Doritos are made and tastes exactly like the chip. It really did taste like I was eating the contents of a taco atop a Doritos chip. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is curious about trying Taco Bell’s new product. I give it an A, Taco Bell has kept to their ideas of making tasty food for cheap and have really ushered in a new wave of excitement about its products especially following its beef scandal of 2011.

My thoughts about Taco Bell have changed somewhat; I am not as skeptical at eating there anymore, provided my taco is encased in the cheesiness of a Doritos shell. 🙂

Leave a Reply

